top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenerabliss

Jazz & Java Headbands

With last week Friday being Jazz & Java, the choir and jazz band's most decorated concert, a burst of excitement traveled among participants. With a dull color palette of black, white, and red to match school colors, picking out what to wear can often be tricky. I decided to go with a sleek all-black look. I wanted to add some sort of red color to bring the look all together, but the red in my closet is limited. I could have worn a small red necklace, but I wanted to find something more original. After digging through a pile of old clothes for inspiration, I stumbled upon a pair of old cotton sweatpants. This find immediately sparked my imagination. I cut a small strip and tied it into a headband. This small pop of color, along with a swipe of red lipstick, completely changed the feel of my outfit.

Before the accessories were created, they were just a pair of old sweatpants.

After telling some friends about what I did, a lot of people where interested in having one as well. Sacrificing my uniqueness to unknowingly start a trend, I ended up making several strips of fabric for others.

This is me with Rylan, the very first person to request a headband! She chose to tie hers in a bow at the top of her head, adding personality to the piece.

After Rylan, there were several others who asked for a headband.


My two favorite curly haired girls, Rylan (again!) and Renae, are posing with their radiant red headbands. Renae pulled up her hair to make it pop even more.

This is Sam with her red ascot. In addition to her black and white striped shirt, she almost resembled a French mime.



There were a few other girls who displayed one of my sweatpants-turned fashion accessory. Although this project was fairly easy to complete, it was quite rewarding to see other people wearing my creations and ideas.


Until next time,

Venerabliss

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page