top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenerabliss

Springing Into New Clothes

The snow is melting and the temperature has passed 40 degrees, which means it is time to pull out those colorful spring clothes! Besides the upcoming warm weather, the season change brings so many new and exciting things: a whole new wardrobe. However, shopping for new clothes can be draining and expensive, with an emphasis on the expensive. That's exactly why I'd like to share a helpful tip about shopping on a budget.


THRIFT STORES!!


Goodwill, Salvation Army, Plato's Closet- take advantage of them ALL!


Just last week, I went to Goodwill to drop off some old prom dresses. (BTW- prom dress shopping at second-hand stores is so cheap and can be just as beneficial as real shops. I even got my prom dress there last year! For $35 I bought an expensive dress and saved so much money!)


I find it almost impossible to not check out what possible fashion finds could be hanging on the racks. The key to shopping at thrift stores is to keep an open mind. You could find a basic article of clothing that can be easily dressed up or something that has a lot of personality and deems itself as a statement piece. Lucky for me, I found both! As I was looking through the dresses, I found a plain black T-shirt dress for only $5! I knew right away that this dress would be an inexpensive AND well-used purchase.





While on my way to the checkout, I stumbled upon the $2.99 jewelry stand. For obvious reasons, buying jewelry second-hand may not be the cleanliest decision, but everything I saw was still in its original package. While looking on the rack, I found a loud, colorful necklace. I'm not usually drawn to large necklaces, but I saw potential in this particular one. Its flashy body contrasted extremely well with the plain black dress I had in my hand. Even better, the necklace came with matching earrings! I ended up leaving the store with almost a whole new outfit for only $8!





With the warm weather approaching, I wasn't hesitant at all to wear a dress to school. I paired it with the new necklace and earrings and my favorite black booties (they were thrifted as well!). I got so many compliments on my necklace!




I LOVED this look! It was perfect for spring, and every item I wore was thrifted! I truly believe that thrift shopping is the best way to go. Every item has a backstory, which automatically adds personality and character. I can't wait to create even more outfits with my necklace and little black dress!



14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page